Info

OPTIMIZE with Brian Johnson | More Wisdom in Less Time

OPTIMIZE with Brian Johnson features the best Big Ideas from the best optimal living books. More wisdom in less time to help you live your greatest life. (Learn more at optimize.me.)
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
OPTIMIZE with Brian Johnson | More Wisdom in Less Time
2021
April
March
February
January


2020
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
May
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: Page 1
Feb 18, 2021

Optimize: https://optimize.me/ (← Get Free Stuff + Free 2-Week Trial!)
Optimize Coach: https://optimize.me/coach (← Join 2,000+ Optimizers from 70+ Countries!)

Here are 5 of my favorite Big Ideas from The Upward Spiral by Alex Korb. Hope you enjoy!

Alex Korb is a neuroscientist in the department of psychiatry at the University of California, Los Angeles. (Go Bruins!) He’s also a great writer. As per the sub-title, the book is all about “Using Neuroscience to Reverse the Course of Depression, One Small Change at a Time.” It’s REALLY good. Inspiring. Scientifically grounded. Simple. Practical. <- A winning formula for a great book! Big Ideas we explore include the power of exercising your brain (which is the #1 tip, btw), setting goals (and making decisions), developing positive habits (via repetition, repetition, repetition), biofeedback (and how to take advantage of it), and the power of others (rely on it!).

Get The Upward Spiral on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1626251207

Learn more about Alex Korb: https://www.optimize.me/authors/alex-korb-phd/

► RELATED RESOURCES:
Big Idea 1: EXERCISE - YOUR BRAIN
- Conquering Depression 101 → https://www.optimize.me/conquering-depression/
- Conquering Anxiety 101 → https://www.optimize.me/conquering-anxiety/
- Conquering Procrastination 101 → https://www.optimize.me/conquering-procrastination/
- +1: +1 or -1 = Destiny Math | What Must YOU be? (#1) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/destiny-math/
- +1: The Bridge | Between Goals and Accomplishments (#821) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-bridge/
- PNTV: Why We Sleep by Mattew Walker (#392) → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/why-we-sleep-matthew-walker/
- PNTV: Gratitude Works by Robert Emmons (#402) → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/gratitude-works-robert-emmons/
- PN: Spark byJohn J. Ratey → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/spark-john-ratey/
- PN: The Joy of Movement by Kelly McGonigal → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/the-joy-of-movement-kelly-mcgonigal/
- PNTV: Tiny Habits by BJ Fogg → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/tiny-habits-b-fogg/
- +1:How to Sidestep Depression | Did You Know There’s a Magic # of Steps? (#1064) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/how-to-sidestep-depression/
- +1:Exercise vs. Zoloft | Feeling Depressed? Pop Your Exercise Pill! (#440) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/exercise-vs-zoloft/

Big Idea 2: SET GOALS + MAKE DECISIONS
- +1: Make Decisions | But Only If You Want to Feel Better (#1225) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/make-decisions/
- +1: Victim vs. Creator | Two Questions: "Why Me?" vs. "What Do I Want?"(#76) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/victim-vs-creator/

Big Idea 3: + HABITS = REPETITION
- +1: We Are What We Repeatedly Do | Excellence, then, Is Not an ACT but a Habit (#469) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/we-are-what-we-repeatedly-do/
- Optimizing Algorithms 101 → https://www.optimize.me/master-class/optimizing-algorithms-101/
- PNTV: Tiny Habits by BJ Fogg → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/tiny-habits-b-fogg/
- +1: Perfectionist vs. Optimalist | Which Are You? (#50) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/perfectionist-vs-optimalist/
- +1: Win or Learn | Three Questions to Ask after a Disappointing Performance (#96) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/win-or-learn/
- +1: "Needs work!" | What to Say to Yourself When Things Don’t Go as Planned (#31) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/needs-work/
- +1: Mistake-Learner’s High | Enjoy It as You Pursue Audacious Goals and Endlessly Evolve (#370) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/mistake-learners-high/

Big Idea 4: BIOFEEDBACK
- PN: Presence by Amy Cuddy → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/presence-amy-cuddy/
- +1: iHunch | What Not to Do If You Want to Be Powerful (#166) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/ihunch/
- Optimal Breathing 101 → https://www.optimize.me/master-class/optimal-breathing-101/
- +1: The Rules of Breathing | The Big 3: Nose + Belly + Exhale (#485) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-rules-of-breathing/
- +1: Smile! | A Surprisingly Powerful Way to Boost Your Mood (#115) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/smile/
- +1: How Clark Kent Becomes Superman in 11 Seconds |
Flipping the (Superhero) Identity Switch (Then Reflipping/Ducktaping It So It Sticks All Day Every Day) (#660) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/how-clark-kent-becomes-superman-in-11-seconds/

Big Idea 5: POWER OF OTHERS
- +1: The Power of Others | Rely on It! (#1226) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-power-of-others/
- Free 14-Day Optimize Trial → https://optimize.me/

► FREE 14-DAY TRIAL:
Get the PhilosophersNote on The Upward Spiral and 600+ other books by starting a Free 14-Day trial membership to Optimize: https://www.optimize.me/trial/

► MORE GOODNESS:
- Get the Optimize App for iPhone & iPad: https://www.optimize.me/apps/
- Get the Optimize App for Android: https://www.optimize.me/apps/
- Subscribe to the Optimize Podcast: https://optimize.me/podcast/
- Follow Optimize on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BriantheOptimizer/
- Follow Optimize on Instagram: https://instagram.com/optimize.me/

0 Comments
Adding comments is not available at this time.