Info

OPTIMIZE with Brian Johnson | More Wisdom in Less Time

OPTIMIZE with Brian Johnson features the best Big Ideas from the best optimal living books. More wisdom in less time to help you live your greatest life. (Learn more at optimize.me.)
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
OPTIMIZE with Brian Johnson | More Wisdom in Less Time
2021
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2020
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
May
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: Page 1
Oct 8, 2021

Optimize: https://optimize.me/ (← Get Free Stuff + Free 2-Week Trial!)
Optimize Coach: https://optimize.me/coach (← Join 2,000+ Optimizers from 70+ Countries!)

Here are 5 of my favorite Big Ideas from Positive Psychology and the Body by Kate Hefferon. Hope you enjoy!

"Positive Psychology and the Body." Unfortunately, those two subjects are rarely connected--which is why I was so excited to get this book when I saw the title. It's actually a *textbook* not a normal book. It provides an overview of research on a range of subjects including: “Positive Psychophysiology,” “Positive Neuroscience,” “Positive Sexuality” and “Positive Nutrition.” Big Ideas we explore include a quick look at Martin Seligman's PERMA approach to eudaimonic (vis-a-vis hedonic) happiness, your nervous system (flip the switch!), longevity and positive emotion (some astonishing stats), diet and wellbeing/depression (sugar begone!), and physical activity (science says: it does a body good!).

Get Positive Psychology and the Body on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Positive-Psychology-Body-Somatopsychic-Flourishing/dp/0335247717/

Learn more about Kate Hefferon: https://www.optimize.me/authors/dr-kate-hefferon-phd/

► RELATED RESOURCES:
Big Idea 1: PERMA
- +1: How to Flourish | Science Says: PERMA (#280) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/how-to-flourish/
- PN: Authentic Happiness by Martin Seligman → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/authentic-happiness-martin-seligman/
- PN: Flourish by Martin Seligman → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/flourish-martin-seligman/
- +1: Hedonic Eudaimonia | A Close Relative of Flow Junkies (#908) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/hedonic-eudaimonia/
- Module O of The Optimize Mastery Series → https://www.optimize.me/coach-module-o/
- +1: Eudaimonology | The Study of a Good Soul (#997) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/eudaimonology/
- +1: Hērōs | Building Strength for 2 (#107) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/heros/

Big Idea 2: YOUR AUTONOMIC NERVOUS SYSTEM
- +1: Training Tranquility | Today for TONIGHT for Tomorrow (#916) → https://optimize.me/plus-one/training-tranquility/

Big Idea 3: LONGEVITY
- +1: Want to Live Long? | Nuns + Crazy Stats (#1161) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/want-to-live-long/
- +1: “The Tyranny of Positive Thinking” | And How to Avoid It (#1164) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-tyranny-of-positive-thinking/
- PN: Rethinking Positive Thinking by Gabriele Oettingen → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/rethinking-positive-thinking-gabriele-oettingen/
- Optimize Coach Program Faculty → https://optimize.me/coach-faculty
- +1: WOOP! There It Is | The Science of Making Your Dreams a Reality (#6) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/woop-there-it-is/
- +1: The Inverted U | And You, Rats, Caffeine, Etc. (#406) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-inverted-u/
- +1: Aristotle’s Virtuous Mean | Versus the Vices of Excess + Deficiency (#247) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/aristotles-virtuous-mean/
- +1: Levity + Gravity = Buoyancy | To Sell Is Human — The New ABCs (#422) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/levity-gravity-buoyancy/

Big Idea 4: SUGAR →
- +1: Sugar & Depression | Some Crazy (And Crazy-Making!) Stats (#1175) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/sugar-depression/
- PN: Food Fix by Mark Hyman → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/food-fix-mark-hyman/
- +1: Don’t Drink Sugar | “The Single-Biggest Thing You Can Do to Improve Your Health” (#1247) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/dont-drink-sugar/
- +1: Cancer Candy (Aka Sugar) | And All It’s Secret Identities (#1177) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/cancer-candy-aka-sugar/

Big Idea 5: PHYSICAL ACTIVITY
- PN: The Upward Spiral by Alex Korb, PhD → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/the-upward-spiral-alex-korb/
- PNTV: The Joy of Movement by Kelly McGonigal → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/the-joy-of-movement-kelly-mcgonigal/
- PNTV: Tiny Habits by BJ Fogg → https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGleZbhlIpk&feature=youtu.be
- +1: Cortisol and Melatonin | Teeter Totter Buddies (#1173) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/cortisol-and-melatonin/
- #1: Science says: Optimize works!!! (“Massively positive effects!”) (#19) → https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WdBBDWMAwcQ

► FREE 14-DAY TRIAL:
Get the PhilosophersNote on Everything Is Figureoutable and 600+ other books by starting a Free 14-Day trial membership to Optimize: https://www.optimize.me/trial/

► MORE GOODNESS:
- Get the Optimize App for iPhone & iPad: https://www.optimize.me/apps/
- Get the Optimize App for Android: https://www.optimize.me/apps/
- Subscribe to the Optimize Podcast: https://optimize.me/podcast/
- Follow Optimize on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BriantheOptimizer/
- Follow Optimize on Instagram: https://instagram.com/optimize.me/

0 Comments
Adding comments is not available at this time.